Instagram is taking a number of steps to limit fake followers and likes. Accounts identified that are using these spurious services will receive an in-app message alerting them that Instagram have removed the inauthentic likes, follows and comments given by their account to others. Instagram will also ask them to secure their account by changing their password. People who use these types of apps share their username and password, and their accounts are sometimes used by third-party apps for inauthentic likes, follows and comments. Not only does this introduce bad behavior into the Instagram community, it also makes these accounts less secure.
Instagram also knows some people may have unknowingly shared their login credentials with a third-party app. If you receive an in-app message, simply change your password to revoke their access to your account. These new measures will be ongoing, and accounts that continue to use third-party apps to grow their audience may see their Instagram experience impacted.
This update is just another step in keeping Instagram a vibrant community where people connect and share in authentic ways. There will be more updates in the coming weeks on additional measures in tackling inauthentic activity on Instagram.
Keep it lock in to get the latest on Instagram, GVGdesign Blog.